While Rival Sons may be taking a short break before their Fall European tour with Deep Purple, they have confirmed they are already working on a new album. To tide us over for the time being, via Earache, they are releasing an extremely limited edition 2-CD package, containing the entire Great Western Valkyrie album on Disc 1, plus 6 additional tracks on the bonus disc.

Two of the six bonus tracks were recorded during the Great Western Valkyrie recording sessions, and three were recorded in Norway at the famous Juke Joint Studios. This release includes both highly sought-after covers of Humble Pie’s Black Coffee and Creedence Clearwater Revival’s Long As I Can See The Light, which you can watch in the video below.

Pre-order the new Great Western Valkyrie tour edition now on double CD from the Earache Webstore here, from Amazon U.K. here (U.S. or U.K. shipping available on both web sites) or pre-order on iTunes here.

European Tour Dates with Deep Purple can be found here.

For the Great Western Valkyrie, the band teamed up with Grammy Nominated, long-time producer, Dave Cobb at LCS Studios in Nashville, TN over the course of six weeks. Dave Cobb: This record the boys seem to have a fire in them!  With (new bassist) Dave Beste in tow, we’ve never had this much time to make a record.  During the previous albums, which were twenty days each, we had a room full of whiskey bottles at the end; this time, which is six weeks, there should be enough to fill a football field!

The result is a magnificent, timeless album featuring Jay Buchanan’s distinctive powerful vocals at their best, packed full of irresistible hooks and instantly memorable riffs, and brimming with the raw energy and passion that have made the band one of the hottest acts around. Open My Eyes is a wonderful introduction and sums up the entire album perfectly; a raucous blend of genuine soul, gutsy groove and their trademark sunshine-soaked blues-rock.

Track Listing
1. Electric Man
2. Good Luck
3. Secret
4. Play the Fool
5. Good Things
6. Open My Eyes
7. Rich and the Poor
8. Belle Star
9. Where I’ve Been
10. Destination on Course

Disc 2
1. Too Much Love
2. My Nature
3. Open My Eyes (live at Juke Joint Studio)
4. Long As I Can See the Light (live at Juke Joint Studio)
5. Where I’ve Been (live at Juke Joint Studio)
6. Black Coffee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.